WHPA Leadership




Nick Thill         
7619 Fairway Lane
West Bend, WI 53090

Vice President

Tracy Malterer         
N4730 Cedar Rd
Iron Ridge, WI 53035


Shelly Astle
S4131A ST Hwy 80
Hillsboro, WI 54634
(608) 489-2456


Fran Wayne
W9461 – 739th Ave
River Falls, WI 54022
(715) 495-0679

Past President

Jon Logterman
PO Box 531
Osseo, WI 54758


Term runs through 2024

James Hillemeyer
4010 Mapledale Court
Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494
715-347-4996                james.hillemeyer@gmail.com

Term runs through 2026

Elizabeth Renstrom
8477 Regent Ave N #326
Brooklyn Park, MN 55443
763-498-3133                       liz91201@hotmail.com


Term runs through 2025

Stephanie Slater
612 E. Market Street, Unit 102
Elkhorn, WI 53121
(262) 215-2791

District Chairpeople

Southern District

Tim Wilbanks
PO Box 117
Sullivan, WI 53178
(319) 321-2494 timwilbanksbees@gmail.com

Southwestern District

Kyle Bomkamp
931 State Rd 80 & 133
Avoca, WI 53506

Southeastern District

Charlie Koenen
6820 N. 43rd Street
Milwaukee, WI 53209
(414) 617-7773

Central District

Martin Mykisen
N3523 County Rd Q
Waupaca, WI 54981
(920) 427-4695

Northeastern District

Chris Hansen
3279 Hwy 8 East
Rhinelander, WI 54501
(715) 369-0383

)Northwestern District

Mitchell Wayne
W9461-739th Ave
River Falls, WI 54022
(715) 495-0679

Western District

Dan Ziehli
29196 Kirkwood Ave
Wilton, WI 54670
(608) 343-0716

WHPA Committees

No more than half of a standing committee’s membership shall be replaced in 1 year, except by the committee member’s own request. Verbal reports are to be given by the committee chair at the regularly scheduled meetings (Summer and Annual Meeting). A written report shall be submitted to the President prior to the annual meeting.

Awards Committee – Chair: Matt LaForge mjlaforge@gmail.com

Function: To determine the yearly award winners and do so in a manner that will create and maintain membership interest in its continuation.

MEMBERS: Membership limited to previous recipients of the Beekeeper of the Year award.


Communications Committee – Chair: Kent Pegorsch kent@pegorsch.com

Function: To monitor and communicate with WHPA members and public. Including, but not limited to, Badger Bee, WHPA website, Facebook, and Twitter.


Constitution & By-laws Committee– Chair: Mitchel Wayne waynehoney2010@gmail.com

Function: Revise the Constitution and By-Laws as needed.


Convention Committee– Co-Chairs: Karri Burzynski karri_22us@yahoo.com , Mary Kettlewell mpuzzler@prodigy.net , Liz Schroeder liz91201@hotmail.com  

Function: Prepare programs and plans for Annual Convention of WHPA


Education Committee – Chair: Shelly Astle astle.shelly@gmail.com

Function: To promote WHPA and the industry though a variety of educational projects. Will consist of two subcommittees:

  1. Youth Education 

   a. KIDS & BEE EXPO – Brenda Dowiasch brendadowiasch@hotmail.com 

   b. Youth Mentoring – Stephanie Slater stephanie.d.slater@gmail.com Youth Mentoring Program

  1. Member Education – Mitchel Wayne waynehoney2010@gmail.com & Chris Hansen chris@hansenhoneyfarm.com Labeling laws, BMPs, tax exemption laws, relevant issues to WHPA membership; develop and implement a speaker bureau

Finance and Audit/Budget Committee– Mary Kettlewell mpuzzler@prodigy.net & Shelly Astle shelly@mwt.net


Function: Study the financial need and status of WHPA. Prepare annual budget. The audit committee shall be a subcommittee of the Finance Committee.

Honey Queen Committee – Chair: Mary Kettlewell mpuzzler@prodigy.net

Function: Organize, promote, and implement the Honey Queen program


Legislative Committee– Chair: Doug Koltermann dougkoltermann@gmail.com 

Function: Keep membership informed on all legislative material pertaining to the beekeeping industry. Be responsible for the introduction of approved legislation. Serve as liaison to the state legislature and other organizations with similar interests. Keep records of all known or suspected pesticide damage incidents involving honey bees in Wisconsin. Act as liaison between WHPA and government agencies, organizations, and/or individuals associated with regulatory issues, including the honey bee-pesticide issue. Manage and submit Section18 applications on behalf of the WHPA.


Promotions Committee – Chair: Ingrid Logterman inlog2002@gmail.com

Function: Organize promotional programs


Research Committee – Chair: Doug Hauke haukehoney@charter.net

Function: To recommend the yearly distribution of monies designated for research. Takes written recommendations from membership to bring forth to the Executive Committee.


State Fair Committee – Chair: Matt LaForge mjlaforge@gmail.com   

Function: Make arrangements for and be responsible for State Fair function including negotiation of a contract with the State Fair manager to be approved by the Executive Committee.


We welcome all beekeepers and people interested in beekeeping to join the Wisconsin Honey Producers Association!